National Poetry Day

Since today is National Poetry Day, I thought I’d post my own little poem. It’s called ‘I Wish…’ and is part of my short story collection, ‘Shorts,’ which is available free from Smashwords or for 99p from Amazon (e-book formats).

I Wish…

I wish I’d been to uni;
I used to be quite smart.
I wish I’d married Clooney –
Or Depp would be a start.
I wish I’d been a stewardess
In the air or out at sea.
But if I’d done all of this
I wouldn’t now be me…

I wish I had a fancy house
In which to roam around.
I wish I’d been a teacher
Or worked in a dog pound.
I wish I could do cartwheels
I’d be flexible and free.
But if I’d done all of this
I wouldn’t now be me…

I wish that I was taller
I wish that I was thinner
I wish my hair was red,
That I could cook a fancy dinner.
I wish I had green fingers;
It just wasn’t meant to be.
Because if I had all of this
I wouldn’t now be me…

Well, “Me” may not be perfect
And “Me” may not be great,
But I would never change a thing…
Not much at any rate

